Small sugar cane field on Madeira

Image via Wikipedia

invert sugar

Also known as: inversol, colorose.
Commercial source: vegetable. If the sugar was derived from sugar cane, a cow bone filter was most likely used in the manufacturing process. Invert sugar derived from sugar beets has not been processed through a cow bone filter. (See product information under sucrose).
Used in: candy, baked goods, icing.
Definition: A sweetener with water-retaining properties derived from sugar cane or sugar beets.
May Be Non-Vegetarian

invert sugar syrup

Also known as: sugar syrup, invert.
Commercial source: vegetable. If the sugar was derived from sugar cane, a cow bone filter was most likely used in the manufacturing process. Invert sugar derived from sugar beets has not been processed through a cow bone filter. (See product information under sucrose).
Used in: soft drinks.
Definition: A mixture of mostly simple sugars which is sweeter than ordinary table sugar.
May Be Non-Vegetarian

isinglass

Commercial source: animal (fish).
Used in: wine.
Definition: A protein derived from the bladder of a fish and used to make some wines (especially white wine and chardonnay) clear.
Non-Vegetarian

keratin

Commercial source: Typically animal (poultry).
Definition: An extremely tough material made of protein which composes the hair, nails, and horny tissue of many animals. Keratin is the primary commercial source of the amino acid, tyrosine. (See tyrosine).
Non-Vegetarian